Adding a Session

How to add a session through the Wordly portal.

When you first login to Wordly, you’ll automatically start on the Dashboard:

Wordly’s Dashboard

To access the Sessions page:

  1. Move the mouse cursor to the left side of the screen
  2. Click on Sessions (Sessions) from the expanding menu, as seen here:

Navigation Menu

Adding a Session

If you’re using a web browser to log in to Wordly, click + Add Session ( Add Session Button ).

This will open up the following menu:

Empty Session

Fill in the following information as it appears:

Title

The name of your session. At the moment, session titles only display within the list of sessions on the left side of the Sessions page, and within exported session transcripts.

Presenter

The name of the person Speaking during the session.

  • If the presenter will be using a streaming interface (Zoom, etc), this field will be auto-populated with “Wordly”.
  • However, if the presenter uses the Join App or the Wordly mobile app as their audio source, then their actual name will come up.

Start Date

The date the session is planned to start.

Start Time

The time the session is planned to start.

  • While it’s required to include a start time, a session isn’t required to begin at the indicated time, as long as it starts within 48 hours after the set time.

Account

The account field will be auto-populated with your account information. If you have multiple accounts or use a shared account, select the account you wish to bill from the dropdown.

Duration

The desired length of the session by hours and minutes. The duration you set will add to your scheduled minutes on the Wordly dashboard.

  • 01:00 = 1 hour
  • 00:30 = 30 minutes

Language

Choose carefully, as the selected language is what Wordly translates from. For example, if the presenter of your session will be speaking French, the chosen language should be set to French, even if the intent is to have Wordly translate it into another language.

  • It’s possible to change the language of a session after the session has started, as well as during an active session. Check out this article for instructions.

Glossary

Select a pre-made glossary.

  • Only 1 glossary can be used per session.

Transcripts

Transcripts are written/printed versions of all the dialogue spoken during a session. At the moment, transcripts are only available to private accounts, and can’t be shared through Wordly. Choose an option from the dropdown:

  • Save No Transcripts - No transcripts will be saved.
  • Private - Transcripts will be saved to your account automatically on completion of a session, in the chosen language of the speaker.
  • Allow Public Transcripts - Not functional at this time.

Access

Access determines who can attend a session and the security required to enter. There are two options available:

  • Open - Anyone with an Attendee Shortcut (see below) can attend the session.
  • Require Attendee Passcode - Determines whether or not a passcode is required to join the session. The passcode must be at least 6 characters.

“Permanent” checkbox

Sessions typically expire 24 hours after they begin, and are removed from the list of sessions on the left side of the screen. Check this box to retain the session indefinitely.

When you’re ready to continue, click Save (Save button).

  • To edit an existing session, select it from the list on the left side of the screen, and click the Edit icon (Edit Icon) in the Session Details box on the right.

  • To delete an existing session, select it from the list on the left side of the screen, and click the trashcan icon (Trash Icon)in the Session Details box on the right.

Sharing the Session

Once you’ve finished adding a session, you’ll be provided with a series of links to send to attendees and presenters.

Attendee shortcuts

Attendee Shortcuts

Attendee Shortcuts are intended for viewers/listeners only. Please do not get these confused with Meeting Shortcuts (see below), which are intended for speakers/presenters.

  • Share the provided link with anyone you want to attend your sessions. Click the email icon (Email button) to open your computer’s email client with a pre-populated message containing the provided link.

  • Click the copy icon (Copy button) to copy the provided link to your system’s clipboard.

  • Alternatively, provide the QR code so that anyone with a smartphone can scan it via their camera app. The QR code can be easily printed by clicking the print icon (Print button).

Meeting shortcuts

Attendee Shortcuts

Meeting Shortcuts are intended only for those people who you plan on presenting during this session. It’s important not to get these confused with Attendee Shortcuts (see above), which are intended for viewers/listeners only. Please use Meeting Shortcuts cautiously.

For security purposes, a six-digit passcode is required to access a session as a presenter.

  • For convenience, the top link includes the passcode.

  • For additional security the bottom link will ask for the passcode, which can be provided separately.

Streaming Shortcuts

Streaming Shortcuts

  • Click the “email” icon to open your computer’s email client with a pre-populated message containing the provided link.

  • Click the “copy” icon to copy the provided info to your system’s clipboard.

Certain services (such as Vimeo) might not work with the information provided in the top-half of the box. If you’re having trouble streaming, try using the alternative links provided at the bottom of the box.


Billing Minutes

  • Minutes are not charged based on the duration of a session, but actual used minutes.

    • For example, if a session is set for 1 hour but lasts only 37 minutes, only those 37 minutes are charged.

    • Conversely, If a session is set for 1 hour but goes 1 hour 5 minutes, 65 minutes will be charged.

  • Minutes stop being charged either when the stream to the session is ended, or when the presenter mutes their microphone.

  • Sessions do not end automatically at the end of the scheduled duration.

  • If you’re streaming, you must end the stream manually to avoid having minutes charged.

  • To prevent the usage of unused minutes, you’ll need to manually** end the session** when finished. Otherwise, Wordly will continue to bill your minutes until either your minutes run out, or the session is ended automatically.

    • To prevent minutes being charged accidentally, Wordly will automatically end a session after two hours if no stream is detected.